Nov 23, 2020  
2019-2020 Academic Catalog 
    
2019-2020 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Financial Information


Schedule of Tuition and Fees

The North Arkansas College Board of Trustees and the Arkansas Department of Higher Education has approved the following schedule of fees, current at the time of publication.


Fall 2019 Tuition

$74 per credit hour (Boone County)
$99 per credit hour (Arkansas)
$124 per credit hour (Contiguous Counties - Barry, Ozark, Stone and Taney counties in Missouri)
$169 per credit hour (Out-of-State)
 
Fees (*indicates a mandatory fee)
*Activity Fee - $4 per credit hour
*Student Services Fee - $4 per credit hour
*Safety & Parking Fee - $3 per credit hour
*Technology Fee - $12 per credit hour
*Student Government Fee - $1 per credit hour
CDL Class A Fee - $200
ACCUPLACER Test Fee - $10 for the entire test; $5 per section
Health Professions Program Fee - $28 per Health Professional course credit hour (Radiologic Technology, Surgical Technology, Emergency Medical Science, Registered Nursing, Practical Nursing, Medical Lab Technician, Medical Assistant, Phlebotomy and Certified Nursing Assistant program courses)
Insufficient Check Fee - $15
Late Registration Fee - $25
Online Course Fee - $20 per online or hybrid/blended online course credit hour
Science Lab Fee - $8 per Science Lab course credit hour (Course prefix of AGRI, BIOL, CHEM, GEOL, PHSC or PHYS)
Technical Program Fee - $25 per Technical program course credit hour (Course prefix of AST, CAD, CEO, CIT, CRT, CT, ET, HVAC, MT, & TECH ~~ excludes Truck Driving, Welding, all Northark Tech Center Courses, and courses ET 1013).
Truck Driving Program Fee - $1,800 per program (Courses at regular tuition rates, based on residency)
Welding Fee - $25 per Welding course credit hour
Welding Certification Fee - $100 (Courses WLD 1184, WLD 2505, WLD 2605, WLD 2705, and WLD 2805)

When any person sixty (60) years of age or older is admitted and enrolls as a student in any state-supported institution of higher learning in this state, the board of trustees of the institution or other appropriate institutional officials shall waive all the general student fee charges for each student on a space-available basis in existing classes. Tuition and mandatory fees will be waived only for courses organized to grant credit and recognized by the Department of Higher Education for credit.
http://law.justia.com/codes/arkansas/2010/title-6/subtitle-5/chapter-60/subchapter-2/6-60-204

  1. Students sixty years of age or older will register during the normal registration period.  
  2. To use the waiver, students must present proof of age.
  3. The Registrar’s Office provides a list to the Student Account’s Office prior to each payment deadline identifying students 60 and over.  
  4. Student Accounts Office applies the Golden Age Award to each student’s account.
  5. Students taking advantage of the waiver may register three business days prior to the start of the term.  
  6. The waiver does not cover textbooks, class supplies, or course-related fees.

Payment Information
Online account payment capabilities and certain payment arrangement options are available using the Nelnet e-Cashier/Campus Connect link from the web page of North Arkansas College (www.northark.edu). Use of this service requires a valid Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit card, or a checking or savings account; and certain application and transaction fees may apply.

Payment arrangements with Nelnet e-Cashier are due on the semester published due date. After pre-enrollment semester published due date, payment arrangements via Nelnet e-Cashier are due on the day of enrollment.

Regular cash, check, or credit and debit card payments may be transacted in person at:
South Campus    North Campus
Student Accounts    Front Office (N100)
1515 Pioneer Drive    1320 N. Spring Road
Harrison, AR 72601    Harrison, AR 72601

Additionally, valid credit and debit card payments may be made via phone at (870) 391-3292 or (870) 391-3219.
Regular payments may be mailed to:
North Arkansas College
Attn: Student Accounts
1515 Pioneer Drive
Harrison, AR 72601

Credit and Payment Policy

Students who register for classes at North Arkansas College are required to pay all related tuition and fees or have made allowable payment arrangements by the posted deadline. Any tentative enrollment will be voided if payment arrangements are not made by this deadline. Payment arrangements include awarded financial aid, written, non-revocable payment commitments from approved third-party entities, or certain timed installment payment agreements via e-Cashier.

Charges to awarded financial aid require that (1) the application has been filed, (2) eligibility has been determined, (3) any selected data has been verified, and (4) the actual award has been processed. Any awarded financial aid will be used to first satisfy any account balance before the residual, if any, is remitted to the student.

The following procedure will be applied to students who are awarded financial aid (institutional awards and scholarships) and also have written non-revocable payment commitments from an approved third-party entity (State, Federal or other approved entity), or certain timed installment payment agreements (e-Cashier):

  1. Financial aid will be processed in the order and by designated commitment of aid received.
  2. Financial aid will be used as designated to first satisfy any account balance before the residual, if any, is remitted to the student.
  3. As payment commitments from third-party entities are received, the funds will be applied to account balances as designated, with the residual, if any, reimbursed to the student.

Any timed installment payment arrangement (online e-Cashier feature) will require full payment within fifty (50) days from the start of the Fall and Spring semesters and prior to the start of classes of the Summer I, Summer II, and any offered mini terms. Timed installment payment arrangements will include an application fee, possible processing fees, potential delinquent payment fees, and acceptance of possible collection costs.

Students electing any qualified payment arrangement agree to the stipulation that upon any arrangement default or delinquent account status, North Arkansas College may deny future enrollment and/or refuse to release any transcriptions and records until the debt is satisfied.

Course textbooks and supplies obtained from the North Arkansas College Bookstore may only be charged to awarded financial aid with adequate remaining coverage after any tuition and fee charges or to written, non-revocable payment commitments from approved third-party entities. Bookstore purchases will not be eligible for any timed installment payment arrangement.

Delinquent Accounts and Collection Policy

North Arkansas College may deny future enrollment and/or refuse to release any transcripts and records until any delinquent account balance or debt to the college is satisfied. Delinquent accounts may also be subject to additional charges, including late fees, processing fees, collections costs, and attorney fees.

Additionally, North Arkansas College may pursue delinquent account collection through in-house efforts, public collection agencies, and/or garnishment of an individual’s Arkansas State Income Tax Refund, as allowed by Arkansas Statute 26-36-301.

Payment Information

Online account payment capabilities and certain payment arrangement options are available using the e-Cashier/Campus Connect link from the web page of North Arkansas College (www.northark.edu). Use of this service requires a valid Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit card, or a checking or savings account; and certain application and transaction fees may apply.

Payment arrangements with Nelnet e-Cashier are due on the semester published due date. After pre-enrollment semester published due date, payment arrangements via Nelnet e-Cashier are due on the day of enrollment.

Regular cash, check, or credit card payments may be transacted in person at:

South Campus North Campus
Student Accounts Front Office (N100)
1515 Pioneer Drive 1320 N. Spring Road
Harrison, AR 72601 Harrison, AR 72601

Additionally, valid credit card payments may be made via phone at
(870) 391-3292 or (870) 381-3219.

Regular payments may be mailed to:

North Arkansas College
Attn: Student Accounts
1515 Pioneer Drive
Harrison, AR 72601

Refunds

Students desiring to withdraw from class should refer to the withdrawal section of this catalog. Upon official withdrawal from class, the College will refund tuition and fees according to the following schedule:

Refund Rate

Before 4:00 p.m. on the 5th weekday after the start
(2nd day - summer term)
100% of the semester
Before 4:00 p.m. on the 10th weekday after the start 
(3rd day-summer term)
75% of the semester
Before 4:00 p.m. on the 15th weekday after the start
(4th day-summer term)
50% of the semester
After 4:00 p.m. on the15th weekday after the start none of the semester (4th day-summer term).

All resulting student refund disbursements occurring as a result of class withdrawal after payment, excluding student financial aid disbursements, will be mailed approximately one (1) month from the close of registration and on a two-week cycle thereafter. Refund/Credit is based 31 upon the total cost of classes to the extent of amount paid. The refund schedule for classes that have a term start date that is different from the regular semester schedule will be adjusted proportionally.

Student financial aid disbursements will be issued via Direct Deposit. Students electing to receive a disbursement check must opt out of the standard Direct Deposit method.

Caution: Financial Aid recipients should take note that dropping some/all classes may partially reduce or revoke financial aid and could result in a significant account balance due or, if financial aid residual has already been received, you may be responsible for some repayment.

Return to Title IV Funds

If a student completely terminates enrollment, stops attending classes, or receives all failing grades or a combination of failing grades and withdrawals before completing more than 60% of the enrollment period, a calculation is performed to determine if a repayment is required. The amount of Title IV aid the student must return is determined by the Federal Formula for Return of Title IV Funds as specified in Section 484B of the Higher Education Act. This law also specifies the order of return of the Title IV funds to the programs from which they were awarded.

 Refund/payment to the various programs will be in the following priority within 30 days:

  1. Federal Direct Loan Program - (Unsubsidized Federal Stafford Loan)(Subsidized Federal Stafford Loan)
  2. Federal Pell Grant
  3. Other Title IV programs

The complete Return to Title IV policy is located under Return to Title IV Funds in the Student Policies section.