Oct 18, 2019  
2017-2018 Academic Catalog 
2017-2018 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Elementary Education, Associate of Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs A-Z

The Associate of Science in Education is a transfer degree for the student who plans to obtain an Elementary (K-6) teaching degree from Arkansas Tech University or Arkansas State University in Mountain Home. Northark has agreements with these two colleges to offer students seamless options for transfer to junior/senior level courses required to ultimately obtain a bachelor’s degree in teaching. Since ATU and ASUMH have variations in required courses for these degree options, students should work closely with a Northark advisor in order to complete specific courses needed for a smooth transition to the junior level at either college.

Major Code: 0050-03
Advising: JoAnn Walden, (870) 391-3346, jwalden@northark.edu
                 Advising Center: M184, South Campus, (870) 391-3115

The My Academic Plan (MAP) serves as a guideline to graduate in four semesters. The Key Milestones/Prerequisites listed for each semester highlight significant achievements that must be completed in the degree track. Students who do not follow the four-semester plan and/or who do not complete identified milestones may jeopardize their financial aid (if applicable) and/or delay graduation.

Academic Preparedness

Northark recognizes the important connection between student success and academic preparedness. Students may be required to complete one or more of the following courses before enrolling in college level courses. Summer and/or intercession courses may be required to graduate within four semesters. Developmental course credits earned do not count towards degree completion requirements.

**A course can only be used once**

Total Credits: 16

Total Credits: 16

* Quantitative literacy is required for ATU K-6 only

Total Credits: 16

Total Credits: 15

Grand Total Credits: 61-62

These courses will transfer to many colleges and universities. The following presumes transfer to frequently selected institutions; Arkansas Tech University (ATU), University of Arkansas Fayetteville (UA), or Arkansas State University. Jonesboro (ASU). Please check with your advisor for more information.

Directed Electives:

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs A-Z